The Kim Il Sung University Delegation Visits the School of Physics, PKU

On May 5, 2018, a Kim Il Sung University Delegation, led by Thae Hyong Chol, President and Minister of Higher Education, visited the School of Physics, Peking University, accompanied by Pak Hak Chol, Dean of the Department of Physics, O Chon Il, Dean of the Department of Philosophy, and Kim Chol Jin, translator and a faculty member of Chinese language and literature. Xiaolin Chen, Secretary of the Party committee at the School of Physics, Yongyun Hu, Vice Dean, Xiaohua Dong, Vice Secretary and Zhaohui Zhang, Director at the Experimental Teaching Center met with the delegation at the Physics Building and held a discussion with them.

On behalf of the School of Physics, PKU, Secretary Xiaolin Chen first extended a warm welcome to the delegation and delivered a brief introduction to the School. President Thae Hyong Chol gave his thanks to the school for its warm welcome and expressed his interests in strengthening exchange and cooperation with the School. Vice Dean Yongyun Hu stressed that there had been a number of North Korea students studying at the School, and would welcome more students undergraduates and graduate students to the School. Dean Pak Hak Chol briefly introduced the physics department at Kim Il Sung University, including its faculty members, research fields and international relations. He mentioned in his talk his own study experience at PKU, and that this was his first time to visit the School as Dean of the Physics Department at Kim Il Sung University. He then invited the scholars of PKU Physics School to attend the international symposium in theoretical physics to be held in this October in North Korea.

Before the discussion, the delegation was accompanied by Secretary Xiaolin Chen and Director Zhaohui Zhang to visit the Experimental Teaching Center at the School of Physics, PKU.

Group Photo